Fierce Sky's Poptropica Blog

A Poptropica blog for the Poptropicans

New Creators’ Blog Post, a few Thank You’s, a few Comments, and a Question…

Hello again Poptropicans,

First of all, I’d like to apologize for the lack of posting this weekend. I took a mini-vacation, and had no access to the internet during this time. If you posted a comment between Friday and Sunday, your comment was heard, I just haven’t been around to moderate them. (Yes, I’m referring to you, Cool Wing and Smockers.)

So, here comes the long post!

Before we start, I’d like to point something out. Fierce Sky’s Poptropica Blog has had visitors from every continent, aside from Antarctica. Yes, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Africa! Thanks to all of your for visiting my blog, and I’m happy with all your feedback.

So, first off, the latest (and one of the greatest in a while) Poptropica Creators’ Blog post. This one is titled ‘Did someone say, “Counterfeit Island?”’ Yes. Another new island update!

After my quick break at the local cafe, I explored more of this new island to discover the people here calling it “Counterfeit Island.” What an intriguing name, I wonder why they call it that? I guess I’ll just have to explore some more to find out.

avatar image
COMIC KID

This is most likely connected to the previous Creators’ Blog post, as Comic Kid mentions how he explores “more of this new island”. I think that “Counterfeit Island” will be the working title, much like how Nabooti Island was called Create Your Own Adventure Island for a while. Plus, I don’t think everyone who plays Poptropica knows what counterfeit means, or how to pronounce or spell it. As a little side note, the picture’s title is “little_fish”. I don’t know if the name has to do with anything named at all, as the boat has the name “RIBICA” on it. I am not sure what “Ribica” means, but it is probably the name of the fishing boat. How this is connected to the JAZZ Cafe, I am not sure.

Secondly, I would like to thank all the awesome people on the Poptropica Help Forums (http://www.thephf.com) for letting others know about my blog. I appreciate all your positive feedback, and it’s nice to see so many people I admire complimenting my little blog. I’ll get back to the discussion on the PHF later, but I appreciate all your feedback. Also, thanks to all of you that have taken part in my poll so far. I would like as many of your opinions as I can, so if you haven’t voted already, please vote!

Next, I’ve heard some things about Smockers having some issues with the rest of the PHF team. I hope that the issue can be sorted out, as Smockers is an awesome PHB contributor, and gave good feedback on this site as well. Let us all hope that whatever issues are existing will be sorted out, and that things are put back to normal on the PHB.

And now, to get back to the PHF post. The issue mentioned in the post about my blog was about the name. Upon me reviving this blog in October, I realize that calling this blog “Fierce Sky’s Poptropica Help Blog” might reach some conflict due to the name change before reviving it. That is why I changed the blog’s name to just “Fierce Sky’s Poptropica Blog”. Even after changing it, a poster by the name of Incredible Fish posted the forum post that gave this blog a few extra hits and comments and feedback, which I DO thank him for.

Good Blog..
+ THe person stole the name…….
Shame! Maybe he didn’t know about PHB……

First off, thanks for the first comment. Other forum posts by other posters also mentioned how the name was a little weird. I already addressed the issue of the name there, but it did strike up an issue that I’ve been wondering myself since reviving the blog. Should I change the name?

Now, as I do with all my arguments, I try to bring up both possible sides of the argument, and to see which is the better choice.

So, if I WERE to change the name, to something like fiercesky.wordpress.com (Do NOT steal that name!), then the issue would be changed, and it wouldn’t seem misleading anymore. That would resolve the issue at hand. But, if I did change the web address, I would have to start a new blog from scratch, and import all my older posts to there. With that change, all my hits and statistics would disappear. After reaching the landmark of 1,000, I sure wouldn’t want to have to start that all over again.

If I weren’t to change the name, all the current stats would remain, but the URL would still be https://poptropicahelpblog.wordpress.com, which still causes conflict due to the other blog with a similar name. Right now, I am still debating the choices for myself. I won’t do a poll for the time being, as I feel I need to think it more over myself, but I do still appreciate your feedback.

If you choose to comment on this post, I always do appreciate your feedback on the Poptropica Creators’ Blog posts, but I would also like your opinion on the URL conflict. Should I change the web address, or not? And, why?

So, that will do it for now. Until next time,

-Fierce Sky

November 15, 2009 - Posted by | PCB Blog Posts, Poptropica Creator's Blog | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. You should ask PHB if you should change it.
    Fierce Sky: I don’t think that would really matter much. I personally feel that my blog URL can be both misleading and tedious to type. If a member of the PHB came here and told me directly to change it, I would change it.

    Comment by Incredible Fish | November 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

